Select Page

Steering Committee

The Lakshmi Mittal and Family South Asia Institute’s Steering Committee provides guidance and advisement to MI, and represents schools from across the university.


Steering Committee Cabinet

Homi Bhabha

Anne F. Rothenberg Professor of the Humanities, Department of English, FAS; Senior Advisor on the Humanities to the President and Provost

Jacqueline Bhabha

FXB Director of Research, Professor of the Practice of Health and Human Rights at the Harvard School of Public Health; the Jeremiah Smith Jr. Lecturer in Law at Harvard Law School; and an Adjunct Lecturer in Public Policy at the Harvard Kennedy School

Martha Chen

Lecturer in Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School; Affiliated Professor, Harvard Graduate School of Design

Sheila Jasanoff

Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies, Harvard Kennedy School

Asim Khwaja

Director, Center for International Development; Sumitomo-FASID Professor of International Finance and Development, Harvard Kennedy School

Jinah Kim

George P. Bickford Professor of Indian and South Asian Art, Harvard University

Jennifer Leaning

François-Xavier Bagnoud Professor of the Practice of Health and Human Rights, HSPH
Senior Fellow, Harvard FXB Center for Health and Human Rights

Rahul Mehrotra

Chair of the Department of Urban Planning and Design
John T. Dunlop Professor in Housing and Urbanization

Venkatesh Murthy

Raymond Leo Erikson Life Sciences Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Vikram Patel

The Pershing Square Professor of Global Health, Harvard Medical School

Kristen A. Stilt

Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
Director, Program on Law and Society in the Muslim World
Faculty Director, Animal Law and Policy Program

Conor Walsh

Paul A. Maeder Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Associate Faculty Member, Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering