Select Page

Reimagining India's Health System: A Lancet Citizens' Commission

Project Team


Tarun Khanna, Jorge Paulo Lemann Professor, Harvard Business School; Director, The Lakshmi Mittal and Family South Asia Institute, Harvard University

Vikram Patel, The Pershing Square Professor of Global Health, Harvard Medical School; Professor, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; Co-founder, Sangath

Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Executive Chairperson, Biocon Ltd.

Gagandeep Kang, Clinician Scientist and Professor in the Department of Gastrointestinal Sciences, Christian Medical College


Yamini Aiyar, President and Chief Executive, Centre for Policy Research

Sandra Albert, Director, Indian Institute of Public Health Shillong, and Professor of Public Health

Vijay Chandru, Adjunct Professor, Interdisciplinary Research, Indian Institute of Science

Mirai Chatterjee, Director, Social Security Team, Self-Employed Women’s Association (SEWA)

Sapna Desai, Associate, Population Council

Rakhal Gaitonde, Professor, Achutha Menon Centre for Health Science Studies, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute of Medical Sciences and Technology

Atul Gupta, Assistant Professor of Health Care Management, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Preethi John, Associate Professor and Deputy Director, UCL Global Business School for Health; Faculty of Population Health Sciences, UCL, London, UK

Nachiket Mor, Visiting Scientist, The Banyan Academy of Leadership in Mental Health

Arnab Mukherji, Professor of Public Policy, Center for Public Policy, IIM Bangalore

Poonam Muttreja, Executive Director, Population Foundation of India

Thelma Narayan, Director, Academics & Policy Action, SOCHARA

Bhushan Patwardhan, Distinguished Professor, Interdisciplinary School of Health Sciences, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune, India; Chair, Interdisciplinary AYUSH Research and Development Task Force of Ministry of AYUSH

Sujatha Rao, Former Secretary of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India

Srinath Reddy, President, Public Health Foundation of India

Sharad Sharma, Co-founder, ISPIRT Foundation

Devi Shetty, Chairman, Narayana Hrudayalaya Limited

S.V. Subramanian, Professor of Population Health and Geography, Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies and Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Leila E. Caleb Varkey, Independent Public Health Researcher

Sandhya Venkateswaran, Senior Fellow, Centre for Social and Economic Progress

Project Team

Shubhangi Bhadada, Project Director

Pooja Gupta, Communications Director